We are hiring!

Booklist for GS Mains 2013 All 4 Papers [New Syllabus]

1141516171820»

Comments

• Best book for World History that i found is Glimpses of World History by Nehru.
    Available at a 40% discount.Order from amazon to save delivery charges.
  • http://iasknowledge.in/book-list-for-ias

Book list for all major topics available on this link
  • I have a doubt about World History portion, those with History optionals (or even otherwise) may please suggest.

I had ordered Norman Lowe a few months back and have been through much of it. It does a reasonable coverage of World History from WW-I and beyond, however it doesnt cover it from 1800's (as per UPSC requirement). what would be suggested readings for those portions ?

I was thinking of ordering Arjun Dev, however the one that I looked up at Flipkart - Arjun Dev - World History also covers same timelines as Norman Lowe.
    Along with Norman Lowe, I am currently studying from the pdfs (Chapter 22 onwards) from:
    http://www.bscsd.org/webpages/mowens/textbook.cfm
    The content is very good and I don't think I will be referring to another book for world history (except the occasional wikipedia perusal). With such a vast syllabus, spending an inordinate amount of time on world history will be counterproductive. We will not be expected to get History-optional level knowledge of this subject.
    Thanks a lot for the link man. I had a superficial look at Chapter 23 - Napolean, the content is indeed pretty good. I guess my worry for the remaining portion of World History gets over with this! :) And I do agree, GS World History would require knowledge that "a well educated person would have" without going "too much" in depth.

@stardust1901 I would also like to mention that the PDFs uploaded/linked by you are really helpful. I was just going through Raymond Cox and it is a really good read for the concerned portions. Appreciate your effort and thoughtfulness! Cheers!