Choosing Mathematics as an optional

I am in a great confusion in deciding my optional subject for civil service exam. I am an above average student in maths with a great love towards it. I have gone through the syllabus and found that the syllabus is almost similar to the engineering maths syllabus ( I am a BTech Electronics graduate). I asked many institutions in delhi about this. Some institution told me that the subject is one of the toughest in civil service exam and most importantly the Normalisation (multiplying factor used to multiple with the actual mark u got in optional) is very less. So they suggest that it is a risky optional. Please let me know all the possible pros and cons regarding maths and it would be nice if i get the best coaching available also.

Comments

• If you want to clear in 4 th or 5th attempt then take maths....it will take atleast 2 years to reach a score of 200....

Whereas in subjects like socio / pub ad you can do it in 4 months...
  • Bhai , thats all BS. If you are comfortable with topics just go for it. Dont get swayed away by people's opinion. If u feel u love da subject then u will nail it fr sure.

Yes mathematics is lengthy and takes nothing less than 6 months if you are deep serious in your preparation.but those who recommend you to go with the humanities subhect will even tell you that even these optionals are safe yet they don't give great returns. Guys have scored 270+ in mathematics this year and this is far more than average score of socio, geography or pub ad. And common yaar everyone loves great scores n if u are preparing fr 2015 , i guess this is the right time to chose your optional and move ahead.you just need more time for mathematics, thats it.morever it helps in ifos too, if u are interested in it.

Its simple, its tough yet it gives better returns. And please bhai dont let others strategize for you in this exam, its all upto hw you are going yo face this exam.if you think you can, just go for it.