ForumIAS Simulator Tests ! Starts April 2 ( UPDATED LINKS )

ForumIAS Simulator Tests commence from April 2, 2017. Click here to download Test Plan. Click here to enroll for the online Test Series . Click here to enroll for the Classroom Test Series.

Geography Optional Group Study For UPSC-2015

edited November 2014 in Geography & Geology
Hello friends,
i am starting this thread so that we can form a group to study together geography optional.I m a newbie here and aware of the niches of geography. However after going through most of the related posts, i do know now the topics, books, materials etc required for the subject. I have just started my preparations, if anyone wants to join me on this venture, u r welcome.
book i have on geography:-
physical geo-savinder singh, strahler
and ncerts,
i know i have a long way to go, any kind of help and advice will be appreciated. i have made this group to keep motivation up and in case any doubt arises we will have a group to discuss with and we wont need to post questions here and there and wait for long time.

[Avoid all-caps. It hurts our ears.]
·

Comments

• Ok i am in whats is the plan
    ·
  • Hi superbola, Here's the plan- First things first-As per syllabus for Geography optional
    Syllabus-Physical Geography-
    1. Geomorphology: Factors controlling landform development; endogenetic andexogenetic forces; Origin and evolution of the earth’s crust; Fundamentals of geomagnetism;Physical conditions of the earth’s interior; Geosynclines;Continental drift; Isostasy; Plate tectonics;Recent views on mountain building;Vulcanicity; Earthquakes and Tsunamis;Concepts of geomorphic cycles and Landscape development ; Denudation chronology; Channel morphology; Erosion surfaces; Slope development ; Applied Geomorphology : Geohydrology, economic geology and environment.