MGP/MGP+ 2018 - Starts 18th Nov - Admissions Open.
Admissions for MGP/MGP+ 2018 are now open. Course begins from 18th Nov, 2018. Read Complete details here. To subscribe visit http://instamojo.com/ForumIAS

Posting of women IAS officers

edited February 2014 in Miscellaneous
hello friends,i am new to this forum. i want to know regarding the posting of women IAS?. i mean when they are married do they get the posting according to their wish where the husband lives?

Comments

• If you are trying to become an IAS officer then shed the mindset that it is the woman's duty to move wherever the husband gets a job.

Only when the husband is himself a bureaucrat will a consideration be made to post the spouses together or close by. If the husband is not in a government job, then he better be ready to follow his wife to a new district every few years or else they can live apart and meet on the weekends.
  • oh.. thanks for information..
  • edited February 2014
    hello friends,i am new to this forum. i want to know regarding the posting of women IAS?. i mean when they are married do they get the posting according to their wish where the husband lives?
    The answer to your question is both yes and no.
    explaining by example...

consider your home cadre as MP
    1. now u are allotted to Karnataka and your husband who also is an IAS officer is allotted to Bihar
    In this case, the govt gives an option either to your husband to change his cadre to Karnataka or u to get changed to bihar.

2. Suppose your husband gets MP cadre, in this case as MP is your home cadre the govt will not give u option to change your cadre to MP, but only gives an option to your husband to change to karnataka.

3. This offer is valid if and only if the couple belongs to the All India services, suppose your husband is in IRS and u are IPS then no changes in the cadre!
    |If you tremble with indignation at every injustice, then you are a comrade of mine|| ||Upsc wars veteran|