List of Presidents of India since became Independence

In 1947, India gained its independence from years of oppressive British rule, the historic year for India.

The Constitution of India was adopted on January 26, 1950, and Rajendra Prasad was elected the first constitutional head of the state, the President of India. Since 1950, India has had 13 full-time Presidents.
Checkout who were the presidents of India since 1947.

The President of the Republic of India is the head of state of India and the commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed Forces.

Ram Nath Kovind is the newly elected and the 14th President of India. Ram Nath Kovind is a Dalit Leader who belongs to Kanpur and was born in Paraukh village in the Kanpur Dehat district, Uttar Pradesh.

Sign In or Join to comment.

Courses by ForumIAS for CSE
ForumIAS is trusted by over 10,000+ students for their Prelims, Mains and Interview Preparation and we currently run several assistance programs to help students from Civil Services prelims preparation to rank upgradation to IAS. You can enroll for these programs by visiting


We are a secret self-moderated community for Civil Services preparation. Feel free to join, start a discussion, answer a question or just to say Thank you.

Just dont spread the word ;)

Sign in or join with Facebook or Google

Subscribe to ForumIAS Blog