ForumIAS:Current Affairs & Newspaper Analysis 2018(Morning Batch)
Batch will be started on 23rd December Click here

Optional selection- How to? and making a group of serious candidates

I am really really confused about selecting an optional. How does one go about selecting an optional?

I have no prior graduation experience in any of the optional subjects as I will graduate with a simple BA. I understand there are pros and cons of every optional but I have hit a brick wall as some options have lesser syllabus but are application oriented while some are less in depth but more in width.

Lastly, I have eliminated all engineering, medical science and pure science related optional as neither my interest nor my caliber lies in studying them.

I will be attempting in 2018 and figure I should start optional studies now along with GS.

Kindly shed some light and help me understand how I should go about selecting one?
wubba lubba dub dub

Comments

• As you are saying that you ar BA so logical choice would be your graduation humanities subject
  • As you are saying that you ar BA so logical choice would be your graduation humanities subject

I had a bit of political science, sociology, and economics but not in great depth.

wubba lubba dub dub
  • Sociology and pol science seem like a good option then. There is enough material available too. Personally i suggest you go for sociology. It seems more straight forward and syllabus isnt massive.

Dont go for economics unless you have a degree in it or come from a strong maths background centric degree.
  • Pehle topi sahi se choose karo uske baad optional.

did not find "optional" topic so went with support and tips. Help nahi karni to na comment kar, topic ki spelling sahi se likh le
    wubba lubba dub dub
  • Tsuki said:

Sociology and pol science seem like a good option then. There is enough material available too. Personally i suggest you go for sociology. It seems more straight forward and syllabus isnt massive.