[ForumIAS COMPREHENSIVE PROGRAM 2018:] BEGINS ON 25th SEPTEMBER
Dear Friends, The wait is finally over. The ForumIAS 2018 Comprehensive Guidance Program 2018 is now out and admissions Open. 5% Early Bird Offer for Non-MGP Students and 10% Early Bird Offer for MGP Students.

Geography vs Anthropology as optional

I am a computer science engineering graduate. I have considered the following two options based on interest and can't come to a decision.

My conclusions on
Geography:
1. It has a vast syllabus, but I don't mind this much, as it is very interesting.
2. I don't have particular map drawing or presentation skills, which is said to be essential.
3. I have only 10 months for preparation and considering the vast syllabus I don't know if I can cover it.

Anthropology:
1. I do not have a background in biology. Considering I have to start from scratch will it take too much of valuable time? Also since a lot of bio students will be taking it, will I be at a disadvantage?
2. The syllabus appeals more to me, but from what I hear, anthro has very little overlap with GS compared to geography. Will studying something entirely unrelated to GS cost me much needed time?

I need further insights on the challenges that could crop up in each subject, so that I can evaluate.
·

Comments

• edited July 9
    I am bio student and yes like 1/3 of paper 1 is gene and stuff related .

buy main book or borrow books of the syllabus

get the previous years papers and see what suits you .nobody can be sure but only yourself f
    ·
  • If you are taking classes of any of the above subjects its good and parallelly you need a mentor for anthropology as of you are from engineering background but if you plan properly with the help mentor or anyone, anthro is good option in other case go for Geo if u can believe in to cover the syllabus with interest
    Geo will be helpful in paper 1 &3
    ·