ForumIAS Simulator Tests ! Starts April 2 ( UPDATED LINKS )

ForumIAS Simulator Tests commence from April 2, 2017. Click here to download Test Plan. Click here to enroll for the online Test Series . Click here to enroll for the Classroom Test Series.

Should I take mechanical Engineering optional ?

Hello friends. I am preparing for CSE 2017. I am in 4th year of my college. I wanted to know how is Mechanical engineering as an optional for this exam. How much time does it take to prepare this subject. Also is there a problem of negative scaling in this subject ? Is it possible to secure > 240 in this optional ? Given, that with this optional I can also secure a backup with other exams like GATE, IES, IFOS etc. should I opt for this optional ?
·

Comments

• Seniors, please help if you have any idea whatsoever about this. Thanks!
    ·
  • If you are confident then you should definitely take it. Its a scoring optional and solve previous year questions of all three ES FS AS, you will easliy score good marks.
    ·
  • edited September 2016
    Ne0 said:

Hello friends. I am preparing for CSE 2017. I am in 4th year of my college. I wanted to know how is Mechanical engineering as an optional for this exam. How much time does it take to prepare this subject. Also is there a problem of negative scaling in this subject ? Is it possible to secure > 240 in this optional ? Given, that with this optional I can also secure a backup with other exams like GATE, IES, IFOS etc. should I opt for this optional ?

My sincere advise is that first ask your self that do you have interest in it, if yes they u can take this subject.
    But if not it will be difficult for you to cope up with this subject as it more demanding than other optional.

Why demanding
    1. UPSC has been asking questions from various books and less from previous years and if i m not wrong , i can list the number of questions u will be needed to solve in each subject