Current Affairs + Answer Writing Classes for 2018 : Attend three days of Classes at FourmIAS Offline Center in New Delhi.
Learn how to make own notes from newspaper and alayze issues for CSE.

Click here to : (1) Register, (2) Download Broucher (3) Click here to enroll ONLINE | OFFLINE Click
Course commences on 28th October at 5PM

Economics or History as Optional for 2016

Hi everyone

I am looking at a 2016 attempt and have gone through the forum and various blogs exhaustively to get a lot of subsidiary gyaan (haven't started preparing actually yet) but there is one thing that has kept me at fence till now

I am confused as hell between Economics and History as an optional

Before you guys come with some helpful advice (I really am counting on that), a little background, I graduated from one of the top b school and have read a bit of Economics as part of the curriculum, however, I really like the content part of History syllabus and was kind of excited about learning a lot about the world through this process by studying History. Now, the issue is that I sometimes come to realise that after all, it's an exam and not some learning exercise. It sounds very curt but that's how it is and I can't put my selection in doubt over interest or anything else. A lot of people who have taken history in the past are always rueful about the dire states of history as an optional and honestly the lack of top rankers in the list with history as an optional is bit unnerving.

I want to know if that really is the case and whether economics will be a more sane choice as an optional purely from the selection point. I know the cliched take an optional which satisfies your interest criterion and what not but I think am looking at it from a ruthless pragmatic approach as I believe I am fairly comfortable taking either one even though interest tilts a bit towards history more (due to novelty)

Please pour whatever advice you can give, thanks in advance